What a Difference a Day Makes by Donna L. Martin

If you had told me a year ago I woWriteruld receive a book contract for one of my children’s stories with the new year, I would have laughed. A part of me didn’t feel like I had paid enough writerly dues yet for something so wonderful to happen.

What a difference a day makes.

Four years ago I challenged myself to acknowledge that voice inside of me trying to shout out…”I’M A WRITER!”  I took that leap of faith and told the people closest to me that I am finally going to pursue becoming a children’s book author.  But where to start?

When you are new to the writing world, things can soon become overwhelming if you allow it.  New blogs to follow, new websites to view, new articles to read, new books to buy…all in the hopes that you can learn how to perfect your writing quickly enough to impress those agents and editors that now fill your dreams of future success.

Words may flow easily onto paper or screen, but you don’t know enough about what you are doing yet to be able to polish it into a presentable manuscript.

What a difference a day makes.

You stumble…you fall…you get back up, dust yourself off and return to the task of becoming stronger.  Stronger in spirit, stronger in self belief, stronger in your writing skill until one day that idea you have been working on takes on a life of it own.  A sparkle becomes a glow from all that polishing you have done.  So you take another leap of faith and send that manuscript out into the world of agents and editors.  And you collect an armful of rejection letters.  If you are really lucky, some of them will have words of encouragement that you hold on to like a winning lottery ticket and return to your writing desk to polish some more.

What a difference a day makes.

One day, you know in your heart, that your story is the best you can create.  You have taken the wisdom of those who have traveled this path before you and let them guide you until your story is strong enough to capture someone’s eye.  You even do the “happy dance” when that contract offer arrives because you know that the lessons have been learned and you can stand up a little taller saying “I’M AN AUTHOR”!

What kind of day are YOU having?

Donna L. Martin’s children’s book, The Story Catcher, will be available early next year.

Donna Martin

10 thoughts on “What a Difference a Day Makes by Donna L. Martin

    • Awww, Leslie, thank your kind words. I will always remember what it felt like when I decided to become a professional writer and hopefully I will never forget the lessons learned along the way…;~)

  1. You spoke to my heart, Donna! I’m glad you’ve reached your dream land. Thanks for the encouraging words to someone who is still on the journey. I wish you all the best with The Story Catcher and other stories.

    • Hi Ping! I am soooo grateful to my editor, Jessica, for seeing the same thing in my story that I did. I hope this is not the only book I publish but it will always be the most special for being the first! ;~)

      Take care,

      Donna

  2. Thank you, Donna, for your encouragement. Success stories like yours help me to keep on keepin’ on! I look forward to reading The Story Catcher when it comes out. Congratulations!!

Leave a Reply

