Author Interview: Jennifer Novotney

cba05-jennnovotney

 

Please welcome Jennifer Novotney, author of Winter in the Soul, a Young Adult novel to be released in July, 2014.

Hi Jennifer, can you provide us with a two sentence description of your book?
In a world divided by power and greed, seventeen-year-old Lilika harbors an intense desire to return to Winter in the Soul, the place her family left to escape the darkness that was manifesting from a coldness of the soul. Now, Lilika holds the key to stopping the darkness from spreading.
How did you get the idea for your book?
When I started writing Winter in the Soul, I was initially inspired by the book The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho. I loved the allegorical tale of adventure and inspiration. I wanted to be able to inspire readers this way. So, I started to write. I didn’t have a clear plan of where my main character, Lilika, would end up, but I knew she would live in a fantastical world void of technology. I knew that she would discover the world around her. I knew she would rise to the challenges she faced. I knew she would be a hero.
Tell us why we’ll love your book.
You’ll love my book because it speaks to universal truths that all of us experience as human beings. It shows the various facets of life to which we can all relate. Lilika, the main character, lives a relatively sheltered life until she decides to move past her comfort zone and see what else is in the world. She finds love, adventure, and most of all confidence. She finds herself. I think we can all relate to that.
How did you come up with the title of your book?
Winter in the Soul was actually the first place in my book that I envisioned. Lilika, the main character, is completely fixated on this place. She has always been forbidden to go there, so naturally, she’s curious. I think this is something we all feel at one time or another. There are things we’d like to do or places we’d like to see but there’s something stopping us, whether physical or mental. Winter in the Soul was the natural title for the book because it represents this feeling.
What do you do when you’re not writing?
When I’m not writing, I’m teaching. I teach English and writing at a college prep school in North East Pennsylvania. I love working with young adults and I think that’s what motivated me to write Winter in the Soul. I read with teenagers every day, so it was only natural to want to write something for them.
Where can readers find you online?
Readers can find me online in many places, thankfully! I’m always online, at least once a day, and I love to hear from readers and fellow writers. My website is http://jennifernovotney.com. I try to post updates on there once a week and also have a newsletter so readers can subscribe to my updates. On Facebook, I’m at https://www.facebook.com/jen.novotney On Twitter, I’m at https://twitter.com/jennovotney On Goodreads, I’m at https://www.goodreads.com/JenniferNovotney

Winter in the Soul

 

One thought on “Author Interview: Jennifer Novotney

Leave a Reply

