Author Interview: Renee Donne

529b4-ap-runaway1600x2400

Today we meet our wonderful author, Renee Donne. Her historical romance, Runaway, will be available in July.

  1. What was your first encounter with the writing world?

I have always loved books. My mother would read to me every night, and as I got older and learned to read, I would read to/with her.  Eventually, when it was time for bed, instead of having to turn the TV off, it was “time to close the book and turn the light off.  I would “dream” up my own stories, and in Language Arts in school, I got my first taste of writing my own short stories and poems.  I had a great teacher who took me under her wing and mentored me.

2. How did you get the idea for your book?

I have always loved westerns. I guess, in my head, I sort of romanticize the sweeping, epic nature of the time period. 

3. Tell us why we’ll love your book.

It has a little bit everything, danger and excitement with a plot twist or two; a strong willed, heroine in need of assistance and the cowboy hero that comes to her rescue.

4. What authors have inspired you to write?

Janette Oke, Dee Henderson, CS Lewis, Frank Perrett

5. What’s more important: characters or plot?

That is a tough question. The book has to have an interesting plot, with unexpected twists; but you also have to develop the characters into identifiable and lovable heroes/heroines and villains you love to hate.

6. What do you do when you’re not writing?

When I am not writing or planning my next book, I love to relax with good friends and a glass of wine.  I enjoy curling up on the veranda with a good book.

7. Is anything in your book based on real life experiences?

Yes, I’m secretly a civil-war-era upper-crust debutante who fell in love with a rough-around-the-edges cowboy. Well, at least in my head. In real life, the book is pure fiction. 

Renee Donne

 

RDonne

 

 

 

Runaway, Available July 15, 2014

 

 

One thought on “Author Interview: Renee Donne

Leave a Reply

