Meet the PR Manager: Suzanne Van Rooyen

 Suzanne Van Rooyen

What do you do for Anaiah?

I am the publicity manager for Anaiah Press, which means I work closely with the marketing director and publicists on all things publicity related. I also help manage various social media accounts for Anaiah Press, assist publicists with the development of marketing campaigns for individual titles and I also make a few book trailers.

Why did you decide to join Anaiah?

Anaiah Press is run by a dynamic team of people I already knew from the publishing industry, people I knew I enjoyed working with. I joined Anaiah Press because of their professionalism, honesty and integrity, and because I knew this press was committed to publishing quality books.

What’s your favorite part of publicity?

For me it’s definitely blogger and reader interaction. I love introducing people to new books and love hearing their feedback on our titles. It might seem strange, but I also love organising things, managing timelines and making sure deadlines are met, keeping to schedules as well as organising reveals and blog tours. I’m at my happiest when sorting through spreadsheets full of marketing info.

What is the one thing you hope to do with your role?

Introduce our books to new readers, particularly our children’s and early reader titles.

What other experiences do you have with the world of publishing?

As a published author, I’ve been on both sides of the publishing world so I know what authors expect and what they generally want from a publisher’s marketing department because I am an author. Having worked as a publicist and publicity manager for over a year now, I also know how publishing companies function and what happens behind the scenes, which enables me to help manage expectations from all sides and deliver quality publicity to our authors.

What is one thing about you that might surprise people?

There’s a lot that might surprise actually, perhaps that I’m South African and currently live in Finland or perhaps that I had a full scholarship to study chemical engineering, ended up studying music and am now an author and publicist!

What advice would you give writers about the publishing experience?

Have big dreams but set realistic goals and don’t ever give up. Rejection is part of the process, but don’t let it defeat you rather let it inspire you to improve your craft.

 

4 thoughts on “Meet the PR Manager: Suzanne Van Rooyen

  1. Hi Suzanne! Thanks for giving me a peek behind the scenes. I appreciate the insight you offer as both author and public relations professional.

    BTW, my great-grandmother came from South Africa . . . we might be distant cousins. : )

  2. Hi Suzanne, I loved hearing more about you and I love working with you! You are such a blessing to all the authors here at Anaiah Press (me included) and I’m so glad you gave up chemical engineering! LOL! 🙂 Your advice to writers is spot on and when I have a free moment, I would love to read your books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

