Author Interview: Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder

Tell us a little about yourself.

I was born and raised in Iowa. I am a single mother to three fantastic children. I enjoy attending church, playing games with my kids, and spending time with my parents and siblings. Writing has always been a passion of mine and I believe that a hand written letter will never go out of style.

What was your first encounter with the writing world?

When I was in the fourth grade I was selected to go to a creative writing seminar. I was beyond excited. I had not thought that anything I wrote would be something someone would want to read. That was when I realized I wanted to write. I continued to write ever since then but was not open with sharing what I wrote. I met a few authors on Facebook (at a book release party) and quickly became friends with them. They helped me, encouraged me, Kelly Martin walked me through how to do submissions. These are my first encounters with the writing world.

Tell us why we’ll love your book.

Love Overcomes is a story about Arabella, a young single mother who has been allowing her past to shape her future. Jeremy is an actor who is accustomed to people wanting to be friends with him because of what he can do to further their careers or how he could push them into the social limelight. How the two of them have to deal with the things that hold them back from finding love is something that I think many people can relate to. Everyone has something that holds them back from giving it their all, something that they need to overcome in order to be with the person that they love.

What does your writing process look like?

I was told that I am a pantster, I had to ask a writer friend of mine what that was. When she explained it I realized this is me, I do not plot things out AT ALL. I put on some music that I think would fit the direction that I want to go (sort of like creating a soundtrack for the book while I go along), there were some scenes I wrote where I played one song on a loop until I was finished with that. There are nights when I stay up so late that I run late in the morning. At the end of each chapter I send it off to my mom who reads it.

What authors have inspired you to write?

There are so many. The worlds created by C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien I really do not think anyone can write anything that touches those. Then there is the quiet passion captured by Austen. There are books that I read and I cannot even imagine how they came up with such rich characters, plots, and worlds. Newer authors would be Kelly Martin and Wendy Knight, both have been such wonderful friends to me and remarkably encouraging. Their books are ones that I can share with my daughter, but they capture and draw me in. They reach a wide age range with their books. Not everyone can do that.

 Angela is the author of Love Overcomes, a contemporary romance which will be released in October. If you’d like to sign up for the cover reveal that takes place on June 27, please complete the form HERE.
4 thoughts on “Author Interview: Angela Schroeder

  1. HI Angela, I loved getting to know you and I am so excited for your cover reveal! Like you, I have been inspired by C.S. Lewis and Jane Austen. 🙂 I bet your three lovely children keep you busy and I can’t wait to read your book! 🙂

Leave a Reply

