Meet the Marketing and Art Director: Melinda Dozier

Melinda Dozier

What is your background in Marketing and Public Relations?

I hold a Bachelor of Arts degree in Communications with an emphasis in Public Relations. I worked for two years as a PR assistant at the University of New Mexico, writing articles for the school alumni magazine, creating press releases about student accomplishments and aiding the department in marketing school events. It was my first step into the PR world. I’ve also worked as a freelance publicist for authors and companies outside the realm of publishing.

What do you do for Anaiah?

As Marketing Director, I oversee the publicity staff, along with our PR Manager, Suzanne Van Rooyen. One of my favorite parts of the job is maintaining the Anaiah Press blog and social media networks. I love interacting with the outside world and sharing what our press is all about. Additionally, I help create book trailers and author videos.

As the Art Director, I’m responsible for assigning our book covers to designers and ultimately creating book covers that attract readers’ attention, while utilizing current publishing world trends.

Why did you decide to join Anaiah?

God led me to Anaiah, no doubt about it. When the opportunity arose, the door was wide open. I joined Anaiah because of the people. We have resourceful, qualified leaders with great business savvy and even better hearts. As a Christian, it was a perfect fit for me to grow professionally in the publishing world.

What do you love about your job?

First, it’s the people I interact with daily: the staff, the authors and the bloggers/media. Not a day goes by where I don’t smile because of my interaction with Anaiah. Besides that, the uber-nerd in me loves to be organized and a huge part of my job involves spreadsheets which makes me happy. It also grants me another creative outlet that I desperately need in my life.

What other experiences do you have with the world of publishing?

I’m also a multi-published, best-selling contemporary romance author.

What is one thing about you that might surprise people?

I have been a teacher for eighteen years and somehow have learned to juggle all my passions: writing, marketing, teaching and being a mom and wife!

What advice would you give writers about the publishing experience?

My advice is to trust those involved in your publishing experience. Sometimes we have to do difficult tasks, like cut a scene or add conflict, but in the end it’s for the best. Your publishing house experts are behind you and want your book to succeed, because it has become a part of them too!

12 thoughts on “Meet the Marketing and Art Director: Melinda Dozier

  1. Hiya Melinda! You know how much I love you but you are one of the reasons why I not only signed with Anaiah Press but why there is so much buzz already about PRINCESS OF THE LIGHT!!! You’re a beautiful person and every publisher dreams about having a talented Marketing and Art Director like you! 🙂

  2. Melinda, every time my son Christian needs a new spreadsheet, he runs to me! I loved your interview, and I have loved working with you on A Long and Winging Road.
    Blessings,
    Linda
    P.S. FIVE DAYS TO LAUNCH!

Leave a Reply

