Author Interview: Robert Polk

Robert Polk

  1. Tell us a little about yourself. I don’t like to fold laundry, and although I’m at stay home dad, I’m not very good at multi-tasking. Give me some time to read to my children, plot my next book or work outside a bit, and I’m quite content. (I guess I could plot while I fold laundry, but then I’d probably forget it all before I’d make it back to my computer.) 

  2. How did you hear about Anaiah Press? Jessica Schmeidler liked a #Pitmad twitter pitch for a picture book I’d written, so I researched the Anaiah family and liked what I discovered. I sent my picture book with a query letter to Ms. Schmeidler, and although she ultimately rejected the picture book, she asked to see my current middle grade novel, which at that time was titled TREE ROPER. To make a long story short, I sent it, she liked it, and here we are!

  3. How did you get the idea for your book? Summer 2011 found me and my one-eyed daughter driving back from her routine eye appointments in Denver. As we approached our town, a large billboard with local girl Teresa Scanlan (newly crowned Miss America) greeted us. I said, “Hey Leah, that could be you someday!” She shot me a cold look and said “No it couldn’t.” I said, “Of course it could. Why do you think that?” Leah was quiet for a moment, then jerked her head my direction and shoved a finger at her face and without a word, pointed to her prosthetic eye. That moment burned itself into my heart, and I knew I must not allow my beautiful, intelligent and strong daughter to believe that her perceived flaws should dictate her life. Yes, we are all flawed, but we are all given unique talents and abilities which I believe should be explored and offered in service to others.

  4. Are you a plotter or a pantster? I pantsed my way through TREE ROPER, which generally suits my style. But I’ve discovered the value of plotting, at least for outlining purposes, and that has made my pantsing style more efficient, if that makes any sense.

  5. What do you do when you’re not writing? Since I’m an outdoor soul by nature, I’ll find many excuses to be there. If I’m not reading with the kids, I’ll probably be outside playing with them – or working in the yard. I probably won’t be folding laundry, but I may be moving loads into the washer or dryer.

  6. Is there anything you’d like to say to your readers? Thank you for giving TREE ROPER a chance!

  7. Where can readers find you online?  www.stmercy.com

 Robert’s Middle Grade book, Operation Tree Roper: An Eye Above will be released October 7. If you’d like to participate in his cover reveal on July 11, sign up HERE.

 

12 thoughts on “Author Interview: Robert Polk

  1. Thanks, Jessica, and thanks for embracing TREE ROPER. Your editing skills…wow. (I know you probably wanted to edit the coordinating conjunction from the beginning of one of my sentences in the interview. Am I right? Heh, heh.)

  2. Wonderful interview! I enjoyed learning about Mr. Polk’s writing journey, and especially appreciated the story behind the story about his daughter. She sounds like an amazing girl–the perfect basis for an awesome main character.

  3. Oh Rob! I can only imagine as a parent what that moment was like for you. And now I can only imagine what it will be like for your daughter to hold this published book in her hands. I’m tearing up just thinking about it. Congrats to you and Anaiah!

  4. What a wonderful interview. I can’t wait to read and help support TREE ROPER! So glad to know you, Robert!! (p.s. I rather like folding laundry, but my twins rather like UNfolding it.) 😉

  5. Great interview and a beautiful story. Your children are blessed to have a dad like you. I know your book will touch many lives.
    Blessings,
    Linda
    P.S. Jessica and I had some moments with coordinating conjunctions, too. 😉

  6. Pingback: Cover reveal day for MG author Robert Polk!! « emily ungar

Leave a Reply

