Meet Author Connie Ann Michael

Author Connie Ann Michael

  1. What was your first encounter with the writing world?

My first encounter with the writing world was about a year ago when I got an offer from a small press.  They helped me to publish three books but soon left the world of publishing and left me to pick up the pieces of my publishing dreams.  This is about the time I joined Anaiah.  I met many of the people from Anaiah through that experience so even though it was a hard road, one I learned a ton from, it was what got me to the great place I am today.

  1. How did you get the idea for your book?

I grew up in the years of MASH, then later CHINA BEACH, and have always been drawn to the military.  My imagination has always run away with me and I would watch the shows and change the characters (usually to include myself) and change story lines…rewriting scenes in my head.  Soon as those scenes and stories began to overflow my brain I started to write them down.  After the United States got involved in Iraq and Afghanistan I watched more of the news and all that information started morphing my old stories and soon I had the frame for my book.A Thousand Stolen Moments

  1. Tell us why we’ll love your book.

I think you will love my books because of the relevance of the situations currently in our world but more so because of the characters.  The characters in 1000 Stolen Moments give the reader insight into the strife and struggles of our military and draw you into their experiences and emotions.

  1. Are you a plotter or a pantster?

I am a pantser.  I want to be a plotter but just can’t get organized enough to do it.  My ideas come in such randomness I have never been able get an outline out before I just start writing.

  1. What do you do when you’re not writing?

When I am not writing I am a mom and a teacher.  I have two college age boys that although they are not living at home all the time they take up a lot of my focus.  I teach second grade and that takes much of my time because of the new curriculum coming out and just basically because little ones are energy suckers.

  1. What do you do when you experience writer’s block?

If I have writers block I go outside and do something.  I am a huge mountain biker, hiker, kayaker…anything active.  By doing something physical outside my head clears and my characters start talking to me again.  All the outside influences melt away and I can empty my mind to let the ideas flow.

  1. Is anything in your book based on real life experiences?

My book is based on an actual battle that took place in the early days of the war.  It was a great plan to get the people to start up their own government and take control of the area.  It didn’t work. I did a lot of research and talked to some young men who had served time over there and compiled the ideas with a lot of added drama.

  1. Where can readers find you online?

I am everywhere and love to connect with readers and writers.

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/connieannmichael

Twitter:  @connieamichael

Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7169768.Connie_Ann_Michael

Google +   https://plus.google.com/

Linkedin:  https://www.linkedin.com/nhome/?trk=hb_signin

 

 

 

One thought on “Meet Author Connie Ann Michael

Leave a Reply

