Author Interview: Susanne Matthews, author of All for Love

We are happy to introduce Susanne Matthews, author of All for Love which will be available on May 26, 2015.

ALL-FOR-LOVE-cover

  1. Tell us a little about yourself.

I’m a retired educator. I spent more than 30 years teaching high school English. I’ve been married more than 43 years, have 3 adult children, and 5 grandchildren. I’m involved with my church, where I recently retired from the position of Clerk of Session after 15 years. I still work closely with the minister. I enjoy camping in the summer, and still camp in a tent.

  1. How did you hear about Anaiah Press?

A good friend of mine who was familiar with my work suggested I submit to them. I decided to give it a try and I’m glad I did. I’m anxious to share All For Love.

  1. Tell us why we’ll love your book.

All For Love is a romance suspense, so it has action and drama. There’s humor and pathos too. The story deals with two people who’ve taken on guilt for things that have happened that were outside their ability to control. It shows the lengths to which a father will go to protect his child. It’s also a story of love as two people bond over a shared responsibility.

  1. Are you a plotter or a pantster?

Definitely a pantser. As an English teacher, I taught the opposite and when I’ve tried to write from a plot graph or a synopsis, it just doesn’t work. My stories are character driven, and I have to let them take me where they want to go. That isn’t always where I want them to.

  1. What’s more important: characters or plot?

I think the characters and plot are equally important. The readers have to identify with the characters and their struggle in order to be brought into the story. They have to like the characters and want to root for them.  By the same token, the story itself needs to be riveting. They have to care about what happens next, and everything needs to be neatly resolved at the end.

 susanne-matthews

  1. What do you do when you experience writer’s block?

Housework. I clean a room, organize drawers, anything to pull me away from the story I’m working on. If that doesn’t work, I go back and start re-reading what I’ve written from the beginning and wait for the characters to tell me where to go. Sometimes, I’ll sit down and meditate and pray. If this isn’t the story the Lord wants me to write, it isn’t going to happen.

  1. Where can readers find you online?

My website, managed by my son, leads to all my social media links. You can read my blogs there and find out about my new books. http://www.mhsusannematthews.ca/

Add ALL FOR LOVE to your Goodreads list.

If you’d like to help with the blog tour, you can sign up HERE.

 

One thought on “Author Interview: Susanne Matthews, author of All for Love

Leave a Reply

