Sunday Sale: All for Love

Happy Sunday, lovely readers! We’re pleased to announce that the Romantic Suspense, All for Love by Susanne Matthews is on sale this week for $0.99.  And, Today, Susanne is here on our blog to share an exclusive excerpt and tell you a little about herself and her book.

portfolioPic-20150722

Guest post by Susanne Matthews

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails. (1Corinthians 13:4-8 NIV)

These words are read at almost every Christian wedding, regardless of denomination, and I wonder if people actually pay attention to them. But are these words only for couples? Did Paul intend for the Corinthians to limit their love this way, or was he talking about something else? Something more? Something deeper?

I’ve been fortunate in my life. I met and married my husband while we were at university, and God has blessed us with 44 wonderful years together, three incredible children, and five awesome grandchildren. He gave me the opportunity for a satisfactory career of more than 33 years as a teacher, and then, in my retirement, He offered me the chance to do something I only dreamed of doing—becoming a published author.

As a teacher I learned to value the differences in others, to love for the good, ignore the difficulties, and help each child achieve greatness. I understood the need to push children and teens out of their comfort zone and force them to spread their wings.

As a mother, there is absolutely nothing I wouldn’t have done for my children, and time hadn’t changed that. I’ve been by their sides in good times and in bad, held their hands through the black moments, and prayed that God would help them overcome obstacles, and He has never disappointed me. As a grandmother, I continue that dedication to my grandchildren, each of them a gift from God in my senior years.

And as a wife? Well, I’ve learned to follow Paul’s advice. There is no love without trust, respect, patience, and understanding. Marriage isn’t easy. It doesn’t just happen. It needs to be nurtured and worked at. It requires openness and communication. It also requires a 100 percent commitment to compromise and perseverance. Not every day will bring sunshine and roses. There will be storms that shake the very foundation of who you are, who you believe yourself to be, but if you follow through, then, as Paul says, love never fails.

All For Love is a romance suspense novel. It pits Greg and Olivia against a vengeful killer determined to destroy Greg and all those near and dear to him. When Greg discovers that his daughter is in a madman’s sights, he learns what it means to truly love someone. It means doing whatever is in your power to keep them safe and protect them. It means stepping away from the “I want” frame of mind and embracing the “What’s best for” philosophy instead, and it means making choices and decisions you’d never thought you’d make.

In Olivia’s case, life has been unpleasant, and instead of moving on, she’s stifled herself, denying the talents God gave her as a way of atoning for what she believes is her fault. Forced to confront her fears, she must put her sense of honor and fair play ahead of her needs to protect the life of a young girl and her father. That God rewards her sacrifice with love and fulfils the wishes she never knew she had makes All For Love a great example of Paul’s words at work.

ALL-FOR-LOVE-cover

All for Love by Susanne Matthews

Excerpt
copyright 2015 Susanne Matthews

“You! Of all the lowdown, dirty tricks. You were spying on me!”

“I beg to differ. The door was open, and I heard Tim tell you I was making calls. I meant to make my presence known sooner, but watching you in action was marvelous.”

Jack cleared his throat. “You’re not helping yourself here, Greg, please.”

Aye, but she’s magnificent, and you can’t deny it. Boadicea returned from the annals of history. I’d have loved to have seen the Roman legions invading Britain come up against one such as you. You’ve given me my next heroine, Olivia. Ta.”

“You’re not welcome,” she spat with what venom she could muster, torn between preening at the compliment of being compared to the famous Celtic warrior queen, and annoyance.

Another thought crossed her mind and her hands fisted once more. She felt like a fool, and her temper simmered near the boiling point. “Did you know who I was in the elevator?”

Jack glanced questioningly at Greg.

“No, I didn’t. I found out who you were a short while ago. I had no idea the infamous Livy was the famous Olivia Cummings. The photographs don’t do you justice. ”

“I’ll bet you say that to all the women you gawk at.”

She bit her lower lip and turned to Jack, curious to know what made Livy infamous, but determined not to ask. She put her hands on her hips, defiance in every inch of her stance.

“It won’t work, Jack. Unless he’s going to pretend to be mute, people will recognize his voice. I did.”

“I didn’t realize you were a fan. I’ll see to it you get an autographed collection when this is over.” Not one trace of the Scottish accent there seconds ago sounded in his voice. “I’m looking forward to learning everything there is to know about you, darling.”

There was no way he was going to get the upper hand on her.

She smiled sweetly and lifted her hand to touch his lips. She ignored the jolt of electricity coursing through her veins.

“So am I, sweetheart. Here’s your first little tidbit of information—I sleep with a gun under my pillow.”

Both Jack and Greg burst out laughing.

Olivia glared at them and wanted to stomp her foot in frustration.

I need to get out of here before I do or say something I’ll regret.

“You know, Red, this may not be so bad after all. I think we’ll get along fine.” He reached for a small red velvet box on Jack’s desk. “I believe you’ll need this little bauble. Veronica designed it for us. Let’s make sure it fits, shall we?”

He reached for her left hand and the sparks she’d noticed earlier travelled up her arm. Her breath caught in her throat.

He slipped the band on her finger, and stared at it. “Well, it seems to fit fine.”

Had she imagined a catch in his voice? Olivia looked down at the delicate tricolor gold band. It suited her small finger perfectly, the elegant design seeming to belong there. Tears threatened.

“It’s beautiful. Probably one of her best pieces.”

A ring like this should mean something.

She squared her shoulders and turned to Jack. “What else do I need to know about this assignment?”

***

To learn more about Susanne and All for Love or to get your digital copy of All for Love on sale for just $0.99, visit www.anaiahpress.com/AllforLove.html

Leave a Reply

