Author Interview: Penelope Powell

Today, we have author, Penelope Powell here to answer a few questions and tell us a bit about her new book, A FURROW SO DEEP.

Welcome, Penelope, thanks for taking the time to chat with us. Why don’t you start by telling us a bit about yourself. 

PPowell

I’m a collector of sorts. my mother gave me set of depression glass salt and pepper shakers when I was a teenager and I’ve been adding to that since. I think I’ve even gotten my daughter hooked. We look for antique dishes at every antique mall.

 

Oh, I love to go antique shopping! I bet there’s a great story behind so many of the items found. So, you’ve been collecting antiques for a while, but how long have you actually been a writer?

I wrote some poetry in high school, but I became a closet fiction writer when I was in my twenties.

So, you’re newest novel, A FURROW SO DEEP released yesterday. Congratulations! What was the inspiration for this book?

Several things actually. Snippets of a dream for the story line, and an uncle’s profession for the male character’s career.

 

Dean’s career is certainly unique in that it’s not something I see often in romance novels. When you’re not writing (or editing), what do you do?

I read a lot. But I like to visit small towns, find out-of-the-way restaurants and shops, and antiquing.

You certainly keep busy, huh? Can you tell us three things about you that not a lot of people know?

  1. I sang backup to Rosemary Clooney with a group from work in Pensacola when I was younger. (She’s George Clooney’s aunt)
  2. I had my passport temporarily taken from me in Poland, which was scary by the way.
  3. I can’t say the word Nicaragua.

AFurrowSoDeep-1600x2400

 

 

All right, so the question everyone has been waiting for. Tell us about your book! The cover is stunning!

After thirteen long years, Karen Braden returns home to inherit her grandmother’s bed and breakfast, hoping it will provide the kind of future she wants for herself and her daughter. There’s only one problem—she’ll have to face the past and the one man she’s never stopped loving: Dean Anderson.

In the years following Karen’s hasty and unexplained departure, Dean built a portfolio of auto dealerships, yet he remains unfulfilled. When he sees Karen again, his hurt resurfaces, clashing with the love he’s always had for her. Determined to find out why she left him all those years ago, Dean discovers there’s more at stake than just getting answers.

As the truth begins to unravel, Dean and Karen must decide if they can forgive past transgressions and trust God to help them forge a future, better than either could ever anticipate.

Where can we get a copy?

Amazon  / Free Excerpt

And where can readers find you?

My website, Twitter, and Facebook. I’m busy rolling out a new website, and once I do, I’ll have a place for people to sign up for my newsletter.

 

Thanks so much, Penelope! 

Leave a Reply

